Dogpile on the Rabbit

Last week I received two gifts I’d like to return – the rejection letter from the job I interviewed for and the official letter telling me I’ve exhausted all 99 weeks of my unemployment insurance. They came the same day.

I immediately started looking around the garage for things we could sell. Sophie, the youngest, most succulent of the Goldens, sidestepped up the stairs and locked the door behind her.

MathMan aka Dr. Hofstadter regarded me warily. Waiting for the storm.

I tossed the letters aside and went back to the task at hand.

“You okay?”

“Mmmmhmmmm.”

No one said anything for a moment.

“I guess it’s good to get all my bad news at once,” I said as I stomped on the next soda can waiting to go in the recycling bin.

Bob Lefsetz.

Tree Stand Philosophy 101. My brother’s blog.  He always was the favorite.

My very brief, positive review of The Buddha in the Attic. 

The rabbit hole I fell down today.

And then this.

I.U. is losing as I type this, but the game has been exciting. A metaphor for life?

Animals in Midlife Crisis and one more.

18 thoughts on “Dogpile on the Rabbit

  1. Jaliya

    Oh…Lisa. I know that grab for stuff to sell … It's pure primal desperation …Re: *The Buddha in the Attic* — what's the emotional impact it had on you? I'm curious …Your brother is a wide-ranging thinker … I skimmed his blog and will return to read … Is there a writerly gift in the family? :-)With you in this xoxo

    Reply
  2. gmb

    Sorry. The good news? Everything I'm reading says that the Occupy folks have lots of interesting things planned for the spring. I'm up for a general strike. Anyonw else ? [Note: I don't know that a general strike is in the works, I just want one.]

    Reply
  3. gmb

    Sorry. The good news? Everything I'm reading says that the Occupy folks have lots of interesting things planned for the spring. I'm up for a general strike. Anyonw else ? [Note: I don't know that a general strike is in the works, I just want one.]

    Reply
  4. Geoffrey Kruse-Safford

    First – that just sucks.Second – that really, really sucks.Finally, while selling might be off the table, maybe renting your husband and children to others for a time might work better? After all, it would be a better option – more money over the long term.And keep writing.

    Reply
  5. Susan

    Oh hell. I wish that one had turned out better. There is always hope in the new year (and I know the urge to sell – but now I am so sorry I sold my nice gold earrings.)

    Reply
  6. Fran

    craptastic.I guess the fact the business bothered to send a rejection letter is notable. Most don't even do that.Big whoop!Taking away the unemployment lifeline sucks.Do you now qualify for other stuff like food stamps, or welfare for the minors that you did not qualify for before?That is a big bureaucratic bundle of documentation bullshit… but any help you can get is worthwhile in the meantime.Remember–J.K. Rowlings was a welfare mom before the Harry Potter books were accepted & published & now she has more wealth than the Queen of England.take any other lifeline you can get.

    Reply

And then you say...